Day 205 of 365 Days of Song

Day 205 – The Welsh National Anthem – Mae Hen Wlad fy Nhadau (The Land of My Fathers)

I just witnessed my National football team (Wales) – which I’ve been passionately supporting since the age of 12 – beat Belgium 3-1 in the Euro 2016 Quarter-Final, to next play Portugal in the Semis. I literally am in Dream-land!

Mae hen wlad fy nhadau yn annwyl i mi,
Gwlad beirdd a chantorion, enwogion o fri;
Ei gwrol ryfelwyr, gwladgarwyr tra mad,
Dros ryddid collasant eu gwaed.

(Chorus)
Gwlad, gwlad, pleidiol wyf i’m gwlad.
Tra môr yn fur i’r bur hoff bau,
O bydded i’r hen iaith barhau.

The land of my fathers is dear to me,
Old land where the minstrels are honoured and free;
Its warring defenders so gallant and brave,
For freedom their life’s blood they gave.2D62B19800000578-3284433-image-a-33_1445510263110

Wales, Wales, true am I to Wales,
While seas secure the land so pure,
O may the old language endure.
Leave a Reply

