Day 82 of 365 Days of Song

Day 82 – Pearl Jam – Indifference

Today in therapy we discussed the suicide who was a huge Pearl Jam fan (and has a huge influence of my love for the band too). In his suicide note he requested this song, as well as two Lemonheads songs, to be played at his funeral. When it was played it really hit me as I had only bought the Vs. album a few weeks prior, and I developed an instant affinity with this song. I love this song but it still hurts – it gives good and bad memories of my dearly missed friend. Miss you loads buddy. RIP.

I will light the match this mornin’ so I won’t be alone
Watch as she lies silent for soon light will be gone
Oh I will stand arms outstretched pretend I’m free to roam
Oh I will make my way through one more day in, hell
How much difference does it make
How much difference does it make yeah

I will hold the candle till it burns up my arm
Oh I’ll keep takin’ punches until their will grows tired
Oh I will stare the sun down until my eyes go blind
Hey, I won’t change direction, and I won’t change my mind
How much difference does it make
How much difference does it make, how much difference

I’ll swallow poison, until I grow immune
I will scream my lungs out till it fills this room
How much difference
How much difference does it make

Leave a Reply

