Day 2 of 365 Days of Song

Day 2 – U2 – Until the End of the World

…always been one of my favourite U2 songs, the lyrics allude towards Judas’s betrayal of Jesus. Bono never gets the song-writing and lyricist plaudits he deserves; this song is a perfect example of his talents.

We ate the food, we drank a wine
Everybody having a good time, except you
You were talking about the end of the world

I took the money, I spiked your drink
You miss too much these days if you stop to think
You lead me on with those innocent eyes
You know I love the element of surprise
In the garden I was playing the tart
I kissed your lips and broke your heart, you
You were acting like it was the end of the world

Waves of regret and waves of joy
I reached out for the one, I tried to destroy you
You said you’d wait to the end of the world

Leave a Reply

